Les choses perdues

Turning her camera especially towards pieces of clothing that were either found or had belonged to people having had an impact on her life, Ducharme sought to recreate, in carefully orchestrated studio shots, the embodiment of objects by humans.

Head-lamp 2010 inkjet print 90 x 60 cm

Le manteau 2010 inkjet print 90 x 60 cm

In similar ways, the series Les choses perdues and Armours, both from 2010, translate this search through a precise method: items of clothing were carefully arranged and deposited by Ducharme, who would then photograph them in the instant before they collapsed to the ground.

Portraits of evaporating presence, these series can also be said to attest to a desire to investigate the symbolic potency of objects – above and beyond their association with human life. (Tousignant, 2014)

Robe grise sur chaise grise 2010 inkjet print 90 x 60 cm

Self-portrait in three parts (part 1) 2010 inkjet print 90 x 60 cm

Self-portrait in three parts (part 2) 2010 inkjet print 90 x 60 cm

Self-portrait in three parts (part 3) 2010 inkjet print 90 x 60 cm

Chemise blanche #2 2010 inkjet print 90 x 60 cm

Blue Couple Collapsing #1 2010 inkjet print 90 x 60 cm

Blue Couple Collapsing #2 2010 inkjet print 90 x 60 cm

Blue Couple Collapsing #2 2010 inkjet print 90 x 60 cm

Les choses perdues

Tournant la caméra en principalement vers des pièces de vêtements qui ont soit été trouvées ou qui ont appartenues à des personnes ayant eu un impact sur sa vie, Ducharme a cherché à recréer, dans des photos de studio soigneusement orchestrées, l’incarnation d’objets par les humains.

 

Head-lamp 2010 impression au jet d’encre 90 x 60 cm

Le manteau 2010 impression au jet d’encre 90 x 60 cm

De la même façon, les séries Les choses perdues et Armours, toutes deux réalisées en 2010, traduisent cette recherche par une méthode précise: les vêtements ont été soigneusement disposées et déposés par Ducharme, qui ensuite les photographiait à l’instant précis juste avant qu’ils ne s’effondrent au sol.

Portraits de  présences évanescentes, ces séries peuvent également être considérées comme le reflet d’un désir d’explorer la puissance symbolique des objets – au-delà de leur association avec la vie humaine. (Tousignant, 2014)

Robe grise sur chaise grise 2010 impression au jet d’encre 90 x 60 cm

Self-portrait in three parts (part 1) 2010 impression au jet d’encre 90 x 60 cm

Self-portrait in three parts (part 2) 2010 impression au jet d’encre 90 x 60 cm

Self-portrait in three parts (part 3) 2010 impression au jet d’encre 90 x 60 cm

Chemise blanche #2 2010 impression au jet d’encre 90 x 60 cm

Blue Couple Collapsing #1 2010 impression au jet d’encre 90 x 60 cm

Blue Couple Collapsing #2 2010 impression au jet d’encre 90 x 60 cm

Blue Couple Collapsing #3 2010 impression au jet d’encre 90 x 60 cm